Books for Couples of All Phases and Stages

Photo by Pexels from Pixabay

The Five Love Languages: The Secret to Love that Lasts by Gary Chapman
(Great for all couples)
With over 11 million copies sold, The Five Love Languages is a favorite that helps couples find out the best way to convey love to their partner in a way that they would best appreciate. The five love languages are acts of service, quality time, receiving gifts, words of affirmation, and physical touch. This book is a must-read for all couples.

The Meaning of Marriage by Timothy Keller
(Best for engaged or newlywed couples)
The Meaning of Marriage shines an honest light on what truly makes a lasting marriage and how service – not compatibility – is the true cornerstone of any strong relationship. It also tackles topics such as what not to do in a marriage, how there is no perfect spouse, and service as the lifeblood of a relationship.

Keep Your Love On! by Danny Silk
(Best for married couples)
Keep Your Love On! deals with three elements that every marriage leans on: connection, communication, and boundaries. The book centers on these three elements and how the development and care of each one strengthens a marriage and keeps the light of love on.

Before You Say ‘I Do’ by H. Norman Wright and Wes Roberts
(Best for couples who are dating or engaged)
Before You Say ‘I Do’ is the perfect interactive read that helps discerning couples figure out where they stand before entering marriage. This book is sure to strengthen and deepen a couples bond and see a different side to your partner. Most of all, this book helps you figure out how prepared you are for marriage and if you’re truly ready to walk down the aisle and say “I do.”

Love and Respect by Dr. Emerson Eggerichs
(For couples in conflict)
In Love and Respect, Dr. Emerson Eggerichs describes marriage in three different states, depending on how each spouse is responding to each other’s core needs – which are different between husband and wife. A must read for couples who cannot quite pinpoint the subtle undercurrent of conflict caused by these different core needs.

The Four Loves by C.S. Lewis
(For couples who seek to understand love on a deeper level)
The Four Loves is a classic piece of literature that deals with the meaning of love in a philosophical manner. It discusses the four types of love: charity, affection, friendship, and eros or romantic love. It’s definitely more suited to advanced readers and couples who seek a deeper understanding of what truly is.

Disclaimer: All photos above are from Google Images. 

Leave a Comment